Dr. Mentz's Surgeon Credentials

America’s First Triple Board Certified Plastic Surgeon


  • The American Board of Otolaryngology, 1989
  • The American Board of Plastic Surgery, 1993
  • The American Board of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive, 1994


  • University of Louisiana, Baton Rouge, Bachelor of Science, 1980
  • University of Louisiana School of Medicine, New Orleans, Doctor of Medicine, 1984


  • Ochsner Medical Foundation, New Orleans, 1984-1986
  • Tulane University School of Medicine, Otolaryngology and Facial Plastic Surgery, 1986-1989
  • St. Joseph Hospital of Houston, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, 1989-1991


  • American Society of Plastic Surgeons (ASPS)
  • American Society for Aesthetic Plastic Surgeons (ASAPS)
  • International Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgeons (ISAPS)
  • American Society of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (past member)
  • Lipoplasty Society of North America (past member)
  • American Academy of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery (AAOHNS-past member)
  • Fellow, American College of Surgeons (FACS)
  • Fellow, International College of Surgeons (FICS)
  • The American Medical Association
  • Texas Society of Plastic Surgeons
  • Texas Medical Association
  • Louisiana Medical Association (past member)
  • Houston Society of Plastic Surgeons (President 2000-2001)
  • Harris County Medical Society


  • ASAPS-certified for Face and Body Aesthetic Surgery
  • Certified for Microsurgical, Laser, Ultrasonic, and Endoscopic Surgery
  • Specialized Training for BOTOX®Cosmetic, Restylane®, Juvederm®, Radiesse®, Isolagen®
  • Continuing research and education in aesthetic plastics surgery


  • President, Houston Society of Plastic Surgeons, 2001
  • AMA – Physician Recognition Award
  • AAAASF Safety Inspector, operating rooms, 1996
  • Active on two breast implant research teams
  • Lifetime appointment, Stratenburg’s Who’s Who
  • Lifetime appointment, Registered listed in Who’s Who in Medicine publication
  • Chief, Plastic Surgery Division, Sharpstown General Hospital, 1994-1996
  • Officer, Houston Society of Plastic Surgery
  • Listed in the ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists
  • Laser Safety Officer, 1995-1996
  • Chief, Department of Surgery, Sharpstown General Hospital, 1994-1996
  • Chief Resident, St. Joseph Plastic Surgery, 1991
  • Chief Resident, Tulane, Head and Neck Surgery, 1989
  • Officer, Ochsner Resident Program
  • President, Senior Medical School Class, LSU, 1984
  • Aesculapian Honor Board, LSU Medical School
  • Mortar Board Honor Society, LSU, 1980